European Heritage Policy Agora

Agora Programme

This event will be livestreamed via You need to register to watch it online.
Simultaneous interpretation in English, Français, Italiano.

Read & Share Agora Booklet

9.30 – 10.15 Opening session

Welcome by Sneska Quaedvlieg-Mihailović, Secretary General of Europa Nostra (Serbia, The Netherlands)

Opening message by David Sassoli, President of the European Parliament (video message)

Opening addresses 
Margaritis Schinas, European Commission Vice-President for Promoting our European Way of Life (online)
Vasko Simoniti, Slovenian Minister of Culture, Acting Chair of the EU Council of Ministers
Dubravka Šuica, European Commission Vice-President for Democracy and Demography
Paola Marini, Chairwoman, Association of International Private Committees for the Safeguarding of Venice

10:15 – 11:30 Cultural Heritage at the heart of the European Green Deal

Moderated by Erminia Sciacchitano, Minister’s Cabinet, Italian Ministry of Culture (Italy)

Opening statement by Francisco de Paula Coelho, Dean of the European Investment Bank Institute

Panel discussion
​Andrew Potts, Coordinator of the Climate Heritage Network (United-States/ France)
Alexandra Mitsotaki, President & Co-founder of the World Human Forum (Greece)
Oliver Martin, Head of Section, Federal Office of Culture (Switzerland)
Pravali Vangeti, European Heritage Youth Ambassador, Europa Nostra/ESACH (France)

Iskra Mihaylova, Member of the European Parliament, Vice-Chair of the Renew Group (Bulgaria) (online)
Philippe Gimet, CEO OPEREL (France)
Xavier Troussard, Head of Unit, New European Bauhaus, DG JRC, European Commission (online)
Indra Purs, Chairwoman of the IFLA Europe New European Bauhaus Working Group and member of the New European Bauhaus Collective

Q&A with the audience

11:30 – 12:00 Special address by Dario Franceschini, Italian Minister for Culture


12:00 – 13:15 Cultural Heritage, a catalyst for peace and mutual understanding

Moderated by Jimmy Jamar, Head of Europa Nostra Brussels Office (Belgium)

Opening statement by Stefano Sannino, Secretary General of the European External Action Service (EEAS) (online)

Panel discussion
Dr Karen Brown, University of St Andrews, Senior Lecturer & School of Art History Director of Research, St Andrews Scotland (United-Kingdom)
Guy Clausse, Executive Vice-President of Europa Nostra (Luxembourg)
Antigoni Michael, Heritage Professional & Archaeologist (Cyprus)
Vesna Marjanović, Secretary General of Europa Nostra Serbia (Serbia)
Julia Lagahuzère, General Director, Opera for Peace (Italy)

Gijs de Vries, Senior visiting fellow at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) (online)
Valéry Freland, Executive Director, International alliance for the protection of heritage in conflict areas (ALIPH) (Switzerland) (online)
Salima Yenbou, Member of the European Parliament, Greens/EFA (France)

Q&A with the audience

13:15 – 14:15 Lunch break


14:15 – 15:30 Culture and Heritage as the basis of a New European Renaissance

Moderated by Luca Jahier, Former President of the European Economic and Social Committee 2018-2020 (Italy)

Opening statement by Roberto Cicutto, President of La Biennale di Venezia (Italy)

Panel discussion
Marshall Marcus, European Union Youth Orchestra, Secretary General (Italy)
Silvia Costa, Extraordinary Commissioner for the Italian Government for the restoration of the Santo Stefano prison, former MEP and Chair of the Culture and Education Committee of the European Parliament (Italy)
Basil Kerski, Director of the European Solidarity Centre (Poland)
Hana Kohout, Project Assistant, Culture Hub Croatia & future European Commission Bluebook Trainee (Croatia)

Marcos Ros, Member of the European Parliament, S&D Group (Spain)
André Wilkens, Director of the European Cultural Foundation (The Netherlands)

Q&A with the audience

15:30 – 16:30 Closing session

Moderated by Sneska Quaedvlieg-Mihailović, Secretary General of Europa Nostra (Serbia/The Netherlands)

Nina Obuljen Koržinek, Minister of Culture and Media of Croatia
Vasco Alv​​es Cordeiro​, First Vice-President of the European Committee of the Regions (video message)
Sabine Verheyen, Chair of the Committee for culture and education, European Parliament, EPP Group (online)
Petros Fassoulas, Secretary General of the European Movement International (online)
Francesco Rutelli, Founder and President, Soft Power Club (Italy)
Jorge Chaminé, Founder-President of the European Music Centre (Europe)


European Heritage Summit 2021

21 - 24 September, Venice