Open for submissions: European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2022

The European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2022 are open for submissions! This year marks the 20th anniversary of Europe’s most prestigious Awards in the heritage field.

Europe’s most inspiring architects, craftsmen, cultural heritage experts, professionals, volunteers, public and private institutions, and local communities now have a new chance to be recognised for their achievements!

The Awards identify and promote best practices in the conservation and enhancement of tangible and intangible cultural heritage, stimulate the trans-frontier exchange of knowledge throughout Europe, increase public awareness and appreciation of Europe’s cultural heritage and encourage further excellent initiatives through the power of example.

As of 2022, the categories of entry have been revised in line with latest developments related to heritage policy and practice in Europe.

The renewed five Awards categories are:

  • Conservation & Adaptive Reuse
    Outstanding projects aiming at conservation, regeneration and adaptation to new uses of cultural heritage, including cultural landscapes.
  • Research
    Innovative research projects which lead to tangible effects for the safeguard and enhancement of cultural heritage or/and to improve the access, enjoyment and understanding of heritage assets by communities.
  • Education, Training & Skills
    Exemplary projects or related to cultural heritage with the aim of fostering knowledge transfer, capacity-building and/or enhancing traditional or new skills and crafts related to heritage.
  • Citizens Engagement & Awareness-raising
    Outstanding heritage-led projects which foster social cohesion, inclusion, multicultural dialogue and understanding, nurture a sense of place and belonging, celebrate diversity and multiple identities as well as stimulate citizens’ engagement, ownership and civic responsibility.
  • Heritage Champions
    Influential and inspiring individuals or organisations whose exemplary action demonstrates an exceptional level of dedication, impact and civic engagement for the safeguard and enhancement of cultural heritage.

The Awards will honour up to 30 outstanding heritage achievements, among which up to five Grand Prix. Each winner of a Grand Prix will receive a monetary award of €10.000. In addition, the Public Choice Award will be presented to one of the selected award winners, following an online vote conducted by Europa Nostra, the European Voice of Civil Society Committed to Cultural Heritage.

The European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards were launched in 2002 by the European Commission and have been run by Europa Nostra ever since. They are supported by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union.

The Awards have brought major benefits to the winners, such as greater (inter)national exposure, increased visitor numbers and follow-on funding.

For more information and online submissions:
Deadline for submissions: 1 February 2022

Submit your application and share your success stories across Europe!


Apply now


Call for Entries: European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2022

Join the webinar ‘How to apply for the Awards 2022’

The Awards department of Europa Nostra will host a webinar on how to successfully prepare an application on Tuesday, 23 November 2021 from 17:00-18:00 CET. The selection procedure will be explained in more detail and tips will be given on how to best present a project and avoid common errors in preparing the application. Participants will have some time to ask questions at the end of the event. Please sign up by Monday, 22 November 2021. Places are limited. Register now

Latest articles about Awards

Message by the Executive President and the Secretary General

Group of European young professionals have hands-on cultural heritage experience at Residency in Romania

2024 Winners of Europe’s top heritage awards announced by the European Commission and Europa Nostra

More Articles +