2015 EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards: Special Mentions

The Special Mentions of the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2015 were made public during the European Heritage Congress held from 10-14 June 2015 in Oslo, Norway. This year, the Juries of the Awards accorded Special Mentions to 16 heritage achievements from 13 European countries. The Special Mentions are given to outstanding contributions to the conservation and enhancement of heritage which are particularly appreciated by the Juries but not included in the final selection to receive an Award.

Association for the Protection of Old Drobak Town, NORWAY
The Special Mention recipient from the host country, the Association for the Protection of Old Drøbak Town, was presented with the certificate by Alexander Fürst zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Sayn, Chairman of the Category Dedicated Service, during the European Heritage Awards Ceremony held at Oslo City Hall on the evening of 11 June 2015.


(listed alphabetically by country)

Category Conservation
▪ Late Antique and Middle Ages Fortresses in Smolyan and Koshnitsa, BULGARIA
▪ Restoration of four housing complexes in Asfendiou, Kos, GREECE
▪ The Four Northern Cogs, Medemblik, THE NETHERLANDS
▪ Trasmiera Ecopark: Open-air Museum, Arnuero SPAIN
▪ Sumburgh Head Lighthouse and Visitor Centre, Lerwick, UNITED KINGDOM

Category Research and Digitization
▪ The Vrouw Maria Interactive 3D Virtual Simulation, Helsinki, FINLAND
▪ The Invisible Tools of a Timber Framer, Gothenburg, SWEDEN
▪ The Atatürk Cultural Center as a part of Hayati Tabanlioglu archive, Istanbul, TURKEY

Category Dedicated Service
▪ Georgian Arts and Culture Centre, Tbilisi, GEORGIA
▪ Ms. Konstantina Christodouli, Evinochori Messolonghiou, GREECE
▪ The Benevolent Society, Frederiksoord, THE NETHERLANDS
▪ Association for the Protection of Old Drøbak Town, NORWAY

Category Education, Training, and Awareness-Raising
▪ Limburg 1914-1918: small stories during a Great War, Haselt, BELGIUM
▪ Sustaining Cultural Variety, Kaustinen, FINLAND
▪ The Burrenbeo Trust: Empowering Local Communities, Co. Galway, IRELAND
▪ Cultural Heritage and the Development of the Crni Vrh Rural Community, SLOVENIA

Latest articles about Awards

2024 Winners of Europe’s top heritage awards announced by the European Commission and Europa Nostra

Europa Nostra celebrates Award laureate and meets with key stakeholders in Armenia

Message by Executive President and Secretary General

More Articles +