2018 Awards Cultural Heritage as an Asset for Responsible and Sustainable Tourism: Apply by 1 July

What better way to illustrate the synergies between cultural heritage and tourism and their benefits for Europe’s society, economy and the environment than a Europe-wide Awards scheme highlighting such remarkable achievements ?

As a contribution to the European Year of Cultural Heritage, the European Cultural Tourism Network (ECTN), the European Travel Commission (ETC) and Europa Nostra have launched the 2018 Awards Cultural Heritage as an Asset for Responsible and Sustainable Tourism.

The Awards will be given for achievements by cultural tourist destinations which have produced significant results related to enhancing visitor experience while respecting traditions and involving local communities.

Applications are open to all tourist destinations across Europe, local and regional authorities, tourism boards and associations, destination management organisations, and cultural NGOs.

Applications can be submitted by 1 July 2018 in one of the following heritage-related categories:

1. Religious and Pilgrimage
2. Coastal and Maritime
3. Cultural Landscapes
4. Industrial and Military
5. Historic Houses, Villages and Cities
6. Transnational Thematic Products
7. Contributions by Cultural and Creative Industries (CCIs)

For detailed information on how to apply, please visit the ECTN website.

The winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony taking place during the 11th International Conference for Cultural Tourism in Pafos (Cyprus) on 25-27 October 2018, organised by ECTN.

Recognised as examples of excellence, the winners of the Awards Cultural Heritage as an Asset for Responsible and Sustainable Tourism will inspire other tourist destinations and stimulate further development of responsible cultural tourism initiatives in Europe. Hence, the 2018 special edition of the Awards is a direct contribution to one of the 10 European initiatives, namely ‘Tourism and heritage: responsible and sustainable tourism around cultural heritage’, which are being developed by the European Commission together with its partners as a legacy of the European Year.

The Awards are organised by ECTN in partnership with ETC and Europa Nostra and have the support of the Network of European Regions for Sustainable and Competitive Tourism (NECSTouR).

Latest articles about Partnerships

Winners of the Ode to Joy Challenge announced

German photographer Thomas Struth wins Helena Vaz da Silva European Award 2024

Geneva: Europa Nostra visits ALIPH headquarters

More Articles +