Awards Jury Membership: Call for Nominations

Europa Nostra is looking for new members of the Heritage Awards Juries who every year carefully study the submitted dossiers for the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage/ Europa Nostra Awards and select the winning projects.

Jury members of the conservation category meeting in Bruges, February 2015.

Jury members of the conservation category meeting in Bruges, February 2015.


The Juries for the four categories (1. Conservation; 2. Research; 3. Dedicated service by individuals or organisations and 4. Education, training and awareness-raising) are composed of independent experts in one or more of the following areas:
• Architectural Heritage: single buildings or groups of buildings in rural or urban setting;
• Building additions or alterations, or new building projects within historic areas;
• Industrial and engineering structures and sites;
• Cultural landscapes: historic urban environments or townscapes, city or town squares and streetscapes;
• Historic parks and gardens, larger areas of designed landscape or of cultural, environmental and/or agricultural significance;
• Archaeological sites, including underwater archaeology;
• Works of art and collections: collections of artistic and historic significance or old works of art;
• Intangible cultural heritage as practices, representations, expressions, as well as the knowledge and skills that communities, groups and, in some cases, individuals recognise as part of their cultural heritage;
• Digitisation projects of cultural heritage

• Long-standing and proven multidisciplinary experience in the wider field of cultural heritage (see related thematic areas above)
• Fluency in English and at least passive knowledge of French
• Availability to study the submitted dossiers and to attend the Jury meetings the duration of which varies between 1 and 4 days, depending on the category. They take place every year in February and Europa Nostra covers the accommodation and the travel costs.
• Availability to serve a 4-year mandate

Nominations will be examined by the Chairpersons of the Juries. They will make a recommendation to the Board of Europa Nostra who will appoint in October 2015 new Jury members for a 4-year mandate.

Europa Nostra always seeks to ensure adequate geographical and gender balance in its various governing and advisory bodies.

Nominations should contain:

a) the curriculum vitae of the candidate (including a CV summary of max. one side A4)
b) the statement of the reasons for his/her nomination and indication of preference of the category for which the Jury membership nomination is being made (max. one side of A4 in English and/or in French)

Nominations should be sent by 13 September 2015 to the attention of:
Ms Elena Bianchi
Heritage Awards Coordinator
+31 70 302 40 58

Latest articles about Awards

Message by Executive President and Secretary General

Europa Nostra Board and Awards Jury have meetings and engage with the vibrant heritage scene in Potsdam

Europa Nostra joins the 2024 European Summit of Regions and Cities

More Articles +