2011 European Heritage Awards ceremony

Winners of the 2011 European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Award were celebrated during the European Heritage Awards Ceremony at the world famous Concertgebouw in Amsterdam on 10 June.

On this occasion, Plácido Domingo, President of Europa Nostra and Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Culture, Education, Multilingualism and Youth announced the 6 Grand Prix winners from the 27 award-winning achievements in conservation, research, dedicated service and education, training and awareness-raising.

The 27 winners were selected from nearly 140 submitted projects in 31 countries. The final choice was made by juries composed of independent experts from across Europe. Each ‘grand prix’ winner receives €10,000 and a plaque or a trophy.

The Hungarian Presidency of the EU was represented by the Minister of State for Culture of the Ministry for National Resources Géza Szőcs.

The awards ceremony was followed by a rare concert performance of Franz Liszt opera “Don Sanche or le château de l’amour”

This event was the public highlight of the Europa Nostra European Heritage Congress, Amsterdam 8-11 June 2011.