Europe Day Online Concert ‘Hope Through Music’ – European Union Youth Orchestra

The European Union Youth Orchestra (EUYO) is organising a highly symbolic online concert for Europe Day on 9 May conducted by Maestro Vasily Petrenko to spread ‘Hope Through Music‘. The concert, commissioned by the Delegation of the European Union to Turkey, will end with a performance of Beethoven’s “Ode to Joy”, the European Anthem, as a contribution to Europa Nostra’s “Ode2Joy Challenge” started in 2018 during the European Year of Cultural Heritage. Europa Nostra is proud to be a key civil society partner of this exceptional concert.

You can watch the YouTube concert via EUYO’s website, social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram) and via this webpage on 9 May at 18:00 CET.

Meet some of the musicians & video editors in a After-Concert Hangout lounge streamed live here.


Europe Day 2020 Special Message
Margaritis Schinas, Vice President European Commission
in charge of promoting the European Way of Life

Johann Sebastian Bach
Preludio from Partita No. 3 for solo violin
Emily Davis violin

Anton Bruckner
Motet Locus Iste arranged for Trombone quartet
EUYO Alumni Trombone Quarantet
José Luna Agudo
Alejandro García Sánchez
Alexander Kelly
Andrew McCoy

Camille Saint-Saëns
The Swan from Carnival of the Animals
The String Ensemble of the European Union Youth Orchestra
Julia Hagen Solo cello

Ludwig van Beethoven
Canzona di Ringrazimento from String Quartet No. 15 in A minor Op. 132
EUYO Alumni Beethoven String Quartet
Amalie Kjældgaard and David López Ibáñez violins
Sofie van der Schalie viola, Klara Wincor cello
Music animation Stephen Malinowski

Claude Debussy
Elif Yurdakul Baykurt flute

Maurice Ravel
European Union Youth Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko conductor

Ludwig van Beethoven
Ode to Joy from Symphony No. 9
European Union Youth Orchestra
Çiğdem Soyarslan soprano
Pelin Halkaci Akin and Can Özhan guest violins

Concert video editor Ulf Breuer
Bruckner Locus iste video editor Ulf Breuer, sound editor/mastering Andrew McCoy
Beethoven Canzona di Ringrazimento sound & video editor Cristian Turcan
Debussy Syrinx video courtesy of the Presidency of the Republic of Turkey – Directorate of communications
Ravel Boléro and Saint-Saëns The Swan sound & video editor Lenscap Films
Beethoven Ode to Joy video editor Ulf Breuer, sound editor/mastering Andrew McCoy

Producer Alexandru Mija
Director Marshall Marcus