Winners of the EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2018 to be announced on 15 May

The winners of the EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2018 will be announced on 15 May by Europa Nostra and the European Commission through a joint press release. Some 30 exemplary heritage accomplishments – in Conservation, Research, Dedicated Service, and Education, Training and Awareness-Raising – will be recognised. As a contribution to the European Year of Cultural Heritage, this year’s Awards will put special emphasis on the European added value of the selected heritage achievements.

Organisations and individuals from 31 countries across Europe submitted a total of 163 applications for the 2018 edition of the Awards. In regard to the categories, Conservation has the most entries (71). It is followed by Education, Training and Awareness-Raising (48), and Research and Dedicated Service to Heritage (22 each). Concerning the countries, Italy and Spain are first in the ranking (18 entries each). Bulgaria and Germany occupy second position (10 applications each), followed by Greece and Serbia (9 entries each).

The meetings of the Awards’ Juries to choose the winners were held in The Netherlands, Belgium and Croatia. The jury for category Research and the jury for category Dedicated Service gathered in The Hague on 26 January and 8 February, respectively; the jury for category Conservation convened in Leuven on 15-17 February; and the jury for the category Education, Training and Awareness-Raising met in Zagreb on 19-21 February (read related news).

The winners of the EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2018 will be celebrated at a high-profile event on 22 June in Berlin, during the first ever European Cultural Heritage Summit. The European Heritage Awards Ceremony will be attended by 1,000 people, ranging from high-level officials from EU Institutions and Member States to leading representatives of heritage organisations from all over Europe. The ceremony will be co-hosted by Tibor Navracsics, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, and Plácido Domingo, the renowned opera singer and President of Europa Nostra.

The winners will present their heritage accomplishments at the Excellence Fair on 21 June at the Allianz Forum. They will also contribute to various other events of the European Cultural Heritage Summit “Sharing Heritage – Sharing Values” from 18-24 June in Berlin. Co-hosted by Europa Nostra, the German Cultural Heritage Committee (DNK) and the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation (SPK), the Summit aims to promote an Ambitious European Agenda and Action Plan for Cultural Heritage as a lasting legacy of the European Year of Cultural Heritage.

The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards is supported by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union.

Latest articles about Awards

2024 Winners of Europe’s top heritage awards announced by the European Commission and Europa Nostra

Message by Executive President and Secretary General

Europa Nostra Board and Awards Jury have meetings and engage with the vibrant heritage scene in Potsdam

More Articles +