Call for Nominations for the Helena Vaz da Silva European Award 2022 (deadline: 18 May 2022)

Europa Nostra and its country representation in Portugal, Centro Nacional de Cultura, together with the Clube Português de Imprensa have launch the Call for Nominations for the 10th edition of the Helena Vaz da Silva European Award for Raising Public Awareness of Cultural Heritage.

The Helena Vaz da Silva European Award is presented annually to a European citizen whose career has been distinguished by activities that disseminate, defend and promote Europe’s cultural heritage, in particular through literary or musical works, news items, articles, chronicles, photographs, cartoons, documentary features, films, and radio and/or television programmes. The Award is named after the late Portuguese journalist, cultural activist and politician Helena Vaz da Silva.Nominations for the Helena Vaz da Silva European Award can only be submitted by the main partners of the Award, namely Europa Nostra, Centro Nacional de Cultura and Clube Português de Imprensa. However, if you know of a European citizen who has made a remarkable contribution to the promotion of cultural heritage and European ideals and deserves to receive this Award, please get in contact with our Secretariat and/or one of our Council Members by 4 May 2022. The deadline for the nominations for the 2022 edition of the Award is 18 May 2022.

The eminent laureates of the previous editions of the Helena Vaz da Silva European Award were the Italian writer Claudio Magris (2013); the Turkish writer and Nobel Prize laureate Orhan Pamuk (2014); the Spanish musician and conductor Maestro Jordi Savall (2015); the French editorial cartoonist Jean Plantureux, known as Plantu, and the Portuguese philosopher Eduardo Lourenço (ex aequo, 2016); the German film director Wim Wenders (2017); the British historian and broadcaster Bettany Hughes (2018); the Italian Physicist Fabiola Gianotti (2019); the Portuguese poet and Librarian of the Vatican Library José Tolentino Mendonça (2020); and the Belgian contemporary dance choreographer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (2021) (on the photo below).

2021 Helena Vaz da Silva Europan Award Ceremony, Lisbon

Find out more


Latest articles about Partnerships

German photographer Thomas Struth wins Helena Vaz da Silva European Award 2024

Geneva: Europa Nostra visits ALIPH headquarters

Destination of Sustainable Cultural Tourism Awards 2024: Apply by 1 June

More Articles +