Europa Nostra’s Vice-President wins highest heritage award in Germany

On 30 July, the Vice-President of Europa Nostra and President of Europa Nostra Deutschland Alexander Fürst zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Sayn won the Deutsche Preis für Denkmalschutz (German Heritage Conservation and Protection Award), the highest award for cultural heritage achievements in Germany, which is conferred by the Presidency of the German Cultural Heritage Committee (DNK). Alexander Fürst zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Sayn was awarded for his long-standing commitment and lifetime achievement in the field of cultural heritage preservation and received the Karl-Friedrich-Schinkel-Ring, named after the German architect of the 19th century, who is considered to be the founding father of state monument preservation in Germany.

Vice-President of Europa Nostra and President of Europa Nostra Deutschland Alexander Fürst zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Sayn

The jury honoured the work of Alexander Fürst zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Sayn who restored the family-owned castle as well as many more monuments in Germany: “Over many decades not only the family-owned, war-destroyed palace in Bendorf-Sayn benefited from his commitment, but also several castles on the Rhine, which could be restored and upgraded through his untiring commitment to the European castle landscape, thus paving the way for appropriate use.” Moreover, the jury stressed his active engagement in several national and international organisations – which includes his dedication to Europa Nostra and to Europa Nostra Deutschland.

Fürst zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Sayn has been Vice-President of Europa Nostra since 1995 and became President of its German country representation in 2004. Europa Nostra honoured and thanked him for his commitment and dedication to the organisation with a Medal of Honour awarded to him at the European Heritage Awards Ceremony 2018 in Berlin.

European Heritage Awards Ceremony 2018

The 12 laureates of the German Prize for Monument Protection – persons as well as organisations – were announced on 30 July by DNK (read press release in German). On the occasion of the European Year of Cultural Heritage 2018, the jury paid special attention to achievements relating to European or cross-border cooperation or initiatives. The award winners will be celebrated on 29 October 2018 in the Palais du Rhin in Strasbourg, France.

Latest articles about Networking

Message by Executive President and Secretary General

Join the second European Heritage Youth Residency in Romania | Apply by 22 April 2024

Europa Nostra Board and Awards Jury have meetings and engage with the vibrant heritage scene in Potsdam

More Articles +