Europa Nostra awards Medal of Honour to its Vice-President Federico Guasti at Awards Ceremony in Venice

Federico Guasti, a Heritage Champion from Italy who has made a notable contribution to promoting the mission of our organisation for more than 30 years, received the Europa Nostra Medal of Honour from Europa Nostra’s President, Cecilia Bartoli, and Executive President, Hermann Parzinger, during the European Heritage Awards Ceremony 2023 held on 28 September in Venice.

European Heritage Awards Ceremony 2023

In his address, Professor Parzinger underlined the exceptional contribution that Federico Guasti has made to Europa Nostra: “His generosity and kindness, knowledge and wisdom as well as his outstanding diplomatic and legal skills have enabled our organisation to effectively promote its mission and enhance its network in Italy and in the whole of Europe. He has been for many years our most esteemed Vice-President and, together with his wife Renate, he remains a generous Doyen of our President’s Circle.”

Ever since 1991, when Federico Guasti was appointed as Council Member of Europa Nostra representing two main Italian heritage organisations – Fondo Ambiente Italiano and Touring Club Italiano -, he has been tirelessly devoted to the mission and action of our organisation. His work in pursuit of European values and ideals, and for the benefit of Europa Nostra, over a period of three decades, has enabled the organisation to effectively promote its goals and enhance its network, reputation and impact. In Munich in 2004, Federico Guasti was appointed Vice-President of Europa Nostra, a top position which he fulfilled generously and diligently during a period of almost 20 years with great impact, effectiveness and loyalty.

European Heritage Awards Ceremony 2023

In a moving speech, Federico Guasti thanked the President, the Executive President and the Board of Europa Nostra, who had had unanimously decided to award him the Europa Nostra Medal of Honour, as well as the Staff of Europa Nostra and all the volunteers who are the pillars of the organisation. “I have received much more from Europa Nostra than I have given. I have met extraordinary people. I have seen unique places, monuments and natural spots, but above all, it was the atmosphere, the people, the willingness to work together and the enthusiasm that I found that enriched me personally. Thank you Europa Nostra, thank you to all of you,” stated Federico Guasti.



The Europa Nostra Medal of Honour is the organisation’s highest honour and has been awarded to only a few people who have made outstanding contributions to the promotion of Europa Nostra’s mission and outreach, namely Piet Jaspaert (Belgium), Denis de Kergorlay (France), John Sell (UK), Alexander Fürst zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Sayn (Germany), Álvaro Fernández-Villaverde y Silva, Marqués de Santa Cruz (Spain), Costa Carras (Greece), Dineke de Koster (The Netherlands), Sir Christopher Audland (United Kingdom), Professeur Marcel van Jole (Belgium), Mr Constantinos Leventis (posthumously) (Cyprus) and Mr Hans de Koster (posthumously) (The Netherlands).

Latest articles about Networking

Message by the Executive President and the Secretary General

Group of European young professionals have hands-on cultural heritage experience at Residency in Romania

Europa Nostra co-organises MERITA concerts in heritage sites in Potsdam, Nicosia and Copenhagen

More Articles +