For over 40 years, Europa Nostra has celebrated and promoted best practices in the heritage field.

The Europa Nostra Awards were set up in 1978 to recognise outstanding heritage conservation initiatives. The Awards were presented to some 650 exemplary projects until 2001, giving inspiration across Europe through the power of their example.

The European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards were launched by the European Commission in 2002 and have been run in partnership with Europa Nostra ever since. Since 2002, independent expert juries, with the help of expert assessors, have selected almost 600 award-winning projects from 34 countries. The Awards are supported by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union.

2023 Winners of the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards

The Awards celebrate and promote the highest standards in heritage interventions, research, and education, training and awareness-raising, as well the longstanding dedication of professionals and volunteers. The achievements recognised throughout the lifespan of the Awards scheme are a testament to the dynamic and vibrant heritage of Europe and of the dedication with which it is celebrated and cared for across the continent.

Europa Nostra also gives Medals of Honour to individuals who have stood out for their visionary leadership and tireless efforts in promoting the mission and raising the profile of the organisation.

For more information about the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards, visit the dedicated website and read the latest news.


European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards

Europe’s top honour in the heritage field

Discover the winners

You might also be interested in

7 Most Endangered Programme

Our Work

European Heritage Summit Venice

Elena Bianchi
Heritage Awards Coordinator
+31 70 302 40 58