Turku hosts European Heritage Congress 2017 from 11-15 May

The Hague / Turku – The European Heritage Congress 2017 will bring hundreds of those active in the heritage sector from all over Europe to Turku on 11-15 May. The absolute highlight of the Congress is the European Heritage Awards Ceremony on 15 May at St Michael’s Church. During this high-profile event, Maestro Plácido Domingo, President of Europa Nostra, the leading heritage organisation in Europe, and Tibor Navracsics, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, will pay tribute to the winners of the 2017 EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards, Europe’s top honour in the field. Another highlight of the Congress programme is the Forum “Sharing Heritage – Citizens Participating in Decision Making” to be held on 13 May at the University of Turku. The Congress will provide an inspiring platform for networking and debating on the latest European developments related to heritage with a special focus on the European Year of Cultural Heritage 2018.

Organised by Europa Nostra and its country representation Europa Nostra Finland, the European Heritage Congress 2017 coincides with the celebration of Finland’s centenary of independence and is held under the patronage of the President of Finland Sauli Niinistö. The Congress is supported by the City of Turku, numerous public and private bodies from Finland and other European countries as well as by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union.

Media professionals are invited to attend the following highlights of the Congress programme:

Debate “European Year of Cultural Heritage 2018: A Challenge for All”
12 May, 17:30-19:00, Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel (Kustaa Conference Room)
During this high-level panel discussion, speakers will reflect on how public authorities can draw on the strength of civil society organisations in mobilising and engaging citizens throughout the European Year of Cultural Heritage 2018 (EYCH). A particular focus will be on the role of NGOs as well as European regions and cities and their contribution to the Year. Among the speakers will be Professor
Jacek Purchla, Europa Nostra’s Council member and President of the Polish National Commission for UNESCO, Michel Magnier, Director of Creativity and Culture of the DG Education and Culture of the European Commission, and Uwe Kochfrom the German Cultural Heritage Committee (DNK). Read more

Forum “Sharing Heritage – Citizens’ Participating in Decision Making”
13 May, 08.30-12.00, 13:00-15:30, University of Turku
This full-day Forum will offer a platform for rich debate on citizens’ participation in decision making related to heritage, based on the experience of various stakeholders from Finland and other European countries. During the morning session, following the introduction by
Maunu Häyrynen, Professor of Landscape Studies at the University of Turku (Finland), the keynote presentations, “Heritage and Participation as Matters of Human Rights” and “Cultural Planning for Sustainable and Creative Communities”, will be made by Mylène Bidault,Vice-President of the Observatory of Cultural Diversity and Cultural Rights (Switzerland), and Lia Ghilardi, Noema Culture & Place Mapping (UK/Italy), respectively. The afternoon session will consist of three parallel workshops: 1) New Tools for Heritage Activism, 2) How to Commit People and Why? and 3) Human Rights & Legislation. Read more

Excellence Fair
14 May, 09:00-12:00, 13:30-18:00, Sigyn Hall – Turku Conservatory
The winners of the EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2017 will present and discuss their remarkable heritage initiatives during the Excellence Fair. This year, 29 laureates from 18 countries have been recognised for their notable achievements in conservation, research, dedicated service, and education, training and awareness-raising. The Paavo Nurmi Legacy project from Finland is among the winners. The Excellence Fair will be opened by >Michel Magnier, Director of Creativity and Culture of the DG Education and Culture of the European Commission, and
John Sell, Executive Vice-President of Europa Nostra. Read more

European Heritage Awards Ceremony 2017
15 May, 18:00-20:00, St Michael’s Church (17.30 doors open)
The EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2017 will be presented to the >winners at a high-profile event co-hosted by European Commissioner Tibor Navracsics and Europa Nostra’s President Maestro Plácido Domingo. During the European Heritage Awards Ceremony, the 
7Grand Prix laureates, entitled to receive €10,000 each, and the Public Choice Award winner, chosen from among this year’s winning achievements, will be announced. This major cultural heritage event will assemble up to 1,200 people, including heritage professionals, volunteers and supporters from all over Europe as well as top-level representatives from EU institutions, Member States and the host country. Read more

Media professionals are required to register their attendance at these events by 8 May by filling this form below:

Joana Pinheiro, Europa Nostra
Communications Coordinator
+31 63 436 59 85

Anna-Maija Halme, Europa Nostra Finland
Coordination European Heritage Congress
+358 405368188

European Heritage Congress 2017

11-15 May - Turku, Finland


Latest articles about Congress

President of the European Committee of the Regions Markku Markkula addresses Congress’ participants in Turku

Civil society, national coordinators and EU institutions discussed European Year of Cultural Heritage in Turku

Europa Nostra’s governing bodies meet in Turku

More Articles +