Europa Nostra on Twitter Europa Nostra on Facebook Europa Nostra on Youtube Europa Nostra on Flickr Europa Nostra on LinkedIn Europa Nostra on Google Plus Europa Nostra on Issuu  
The Voice of Cultural Heritage in Europe


Membership by country
News print


may 25

Europe’s cultural hotspots awarded – awakening the European cultural scene


14 MAY – THE HAGUE – The 7th Annual European Heritage Awards Ceremony will take place in the Teatro Antico of Taormina, Sicily on the 5 June 2009. This unique awards programme aims to highlight some of Europe’s cultural and architectural treasures and will showcase remarkable efforts achieved to preserve Europe’s rich history in specific projects from over 15 countries across Europe.


The Awards scheme, jointly organised by the European Commission and Europa Nostra, the pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage that represents over 250 NGOs and over 160 other organisations dedicated to heritage active in 45 countries across Europe, will celebrate outstanding initiatives within the European cultural heritage sector and will highlight exceptional restoration and conservation, research and education achievements, as well as dedicated service to heritage conservation.


The aim of the Awards is to promote high standards and high-quality skills in conservation practice and to stimulate trans-border exchanges in the area of heritage. By spreading the "Power of Example”, the Awards also aims to encourage further efforts and projects related to heritage protection throughout Europe.


Over the years, the awards programme has seen remarkable examples of cultural preservation of Europe’s heritage that represent both some of the most well-known sites in Europe and others that are unique and hidden treasures of the communities in which they reside, such as Trafalgar Square in London (2003 laureate) or the beautiful “Hernergut” bathing Pavilion in Horgen, Switzerland (2005 laureate).


Among the 28 selected winners of the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards, seven Grand Prize winners will be chosen as the most outstanding examples of heritage protection, which will be announced at the awards ceremony. Each Grand Prize winner will receive a monetary reward of € 10,000. These winners have been selected amongst a group of nearly 140 projects from 24 countries. Presenting the awards will be Mr Ján Figel’, the European Commissioner responsible for Education, Training, Culture and Youth, and Her Royal Highness The Infanta Doña Pilar de Borbón, President of Europa Nostra.


Each of the winners will receive a commemorative plaque (seen above) to be placed outside the building to serve as a reminder of the impressive and noteworthy efforts to preserve Europe’s built heritage. These medals can be spotted across Europe at previous project winners from the last seven award ceremonies and this year’s winners will soon be able to join this prestigious group.


Complete list of award recipients


Category 1 — Conservation:

• Gozzoburg Medieval building, AUSTRIA
• Grotenfelt Family Burial Chapel's wall paintings, FINLAND
• Kesälahti Church Bell Tower, FINLAND
• Dokumentationsstätte Regierungsbunker, GERMANY
• Archaeological Site of Nicopolis, GREECE
• Mátra Museum in Gyöngyös, HUNGARY
• The Church of Saints Faustino and Giovita, ITALY
• Macro Future and Alternative Economy City, ITALY
• Via Latina at Coimbra, PORTUGAL
• La Casería de los Tomillos, SPAIN
• The Church of Santa María La Mayor, SPAIN
• Stanley Mills, UNITED KINGDOM
• Logie Schoolhouse, UNITED KINGDOM
• The Pier Arts Centre, UNITED KINGDOM
• High Level Bridge at Newcastle-Gateshead upon Tyne, UNITED KINGDOM

Category 2 — Research:

• Study, Assessment and Design for the Structural and Architectural Restoration of the Bedestan, CYPRUS
• Series of five restoration catalogues from 2004 to 2008 of the Olomouc Museum of Art, CZECH REPUBLIC
• An Inventory of Historic Gardens and Designed Landscapes in Ireland, IRELAND
• Global Climate change impact on built heritage and cultural landscape: the Noah's Ark Project, ITALY


Category 3 — Dedicated service:

• Dr. Glenn Murray, SPAIN
• Fundación de la Comunidad Valenciana La Luz de las Imágenes, SPAIN
• Professor David Walker, OBE, UNITED KINGDOM


Category 4 — Education, training and awareness-raising:

• Maison du patrimoine médiéval mosan, BELGIUM
• Sustainable Aegean Programme, GREECE
• A proposed teaching method for reading the landscape: Pontemanco, ITALY
• Academia Istropolitana Nova, SLOVAKIA
• “Culture Ants” project, TURKEY
• Upper Colne Valley dry stone walling project, UNITED KINGDOM


download press release as PDF