Europa Nostra on Twitter Europa Nostra on Facebook Europa Nostra on Youtube Europa Nostra on Flickr Europa Nostra on LinkedIn Europa Nostra on Google Plus Europa Nostra on Issuu  
The Voice of Cultural Heritage in Europe


Membership by country
News print


apr 01

The European Commission and Europa Nostra announce 29 winners from 15 countries for the 2010 Edition of the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards.


PDF Icon Download Press Release



This unique Awards programme highlights some of Europe’s best achievements, and showcases remarkable efforts made in safeguarding Europe’s rich architectural, landscape, archaeological and artistic heritage.


The awards will be presented during the 8th Annual European Heritage Awards Ceremony, taking place in Aya Irini in Istanbul, Turkey on 10 June 2010, as part of the Europa Nostra Annual Congress. These events contribute to the celebration of Istanbul as a European Capital of Culture 2010 and are included in the official programme of Istanbul 2010.
The awards will be presented by Mrs Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner responsible for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, and Denis de Kergorlay, Executive President of Europa Nostra.
Each year, the European cultural heritage community and its supporters turn their attention to the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards. Proudly celebrated annually since 2002, the ceremony showcases the greatest achievements in maintaining and preserving Europe's shared cultural heritage. Jointly organised by the European Commission and Europa Nostra - the Voice of Cultural Heritage in Europe – this grand Award Ceremony starts off celebrations that will continue at local level and at the sites themselves throughout the year.
The Awards celebrate not only outstanding initiatives, conservation projects, research, and education successes within Europe's cultural heritage sector, but also reward the exceptionally dedicated service to heritage conservation by individuals and/or groups. The 2010 winners have been selected from nearly 140 submitted projects, stemming from 26 countries. The selection of Laureates is made by one of the 4 Heritage Awards Juries, composed of independent experts from across Europe.
A major aim of the Awards is to stimulate trans-border exchanges in the heritage sector. By spreading the "Power of Example", the Awards scheme encourages further efforts and projects related to heritage protection throughout Europe. This is in keeping with the goals set down by other Europe-wide cultural projects, such as the European Heritage Days whose slogan - "Europe, a Common Heritage" - promotes a shared European legacy.
Over the years, the Awards programme has seen remarkable examples of the conservation, management and interpretation of Europe’s heritage. These range from some of the most well-known sites in Europe, such as La Scala in Milan (2005 Laureate), to other lesser-known treasures, such as the vernacular wooden Kesälahti Church Bell Tower in Finland (2009 Laureate).
Among the 29 selected winners of the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards, 6 Grand Prix winners will be announced at the European Heritage Awards Ceremony on 10 June in Istanbul Turkey, as 2010’s most outstanding examples of heritage protection. Each Grand Prix winner will receive a monetary reward of € 10,000.
Complete list of Award Laureates   (listed alphabetically by country)
Category 1 — Conservation
Category 2 - Research
Category 3 — Dedicated service
In this category, Europa Nostra Awards will be presented to two projects from European countries not taking part in the EU Culture Programme:
Category 4 — Education, training and awareness-raising


For more information about the Awards programme, the Laureates or high resolution photos please contact:

Elena Bianchi, Europa Nostra Awards (eb[at]europanostra[dot]org or +31 70 302 40 58


Bookmark and Share